The Petty Argument

*Sighs* You ever find yourself logging on to social media, whether it’s Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram and you come across the infamous argument…..

pwivhbcuDEBATE

PWI stands for Predominantly, White Institutions, and HBCU stands for Historically Black College or Universities. I can honestly say that when I was deciding on which university to pursue my undergraduate studies in, I took several factors in, but the MAIN factor I considered was FINANCES. I looked into what I could afford, and I looked into the programs they offered, along with the city the school was located in. Previously having insight to the university I chose to attend, McNeese State University in Lake Charles, LA, it made the decision even better once I settled in for the next four years.

Well, little did I know, I did not know it was such a HUGE DEAL whether I chose to attend a PWI or an HBCU, until I clicked on the popular hashtag #HBCUVSPWI on Twitter one day. I was like, whoa, wait a minute. I instantly went into defense mode because for one, I attended a PWI, and two, YOU NOT GON’ COME FOR ME because I chose a PWI. What  I find the most disturbing about the debate is that, DRUM ROLL PLEASE……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… it’s BLACK PEOPLE ARGUING WITH OTHER BLACK PEOPLE ABOUT WHICH TYPE OF INSTITUTIONS THEY ARE ATTENDING.

Like do we ever get tired of arguing among each other over liberties that once upon of time was forbidden territory for people like us. So what if your experience at a PWI or HBCU was better than someone else’s. There are so many things that colleges and universities offer which cater to different types of students. No one’s college experience will be the same as the next. All I CARE ABOUT, is making sure we all walking to get our degrees once commencement comes around. I mean, that is the whole point. The HBCU vs PWI debate is played out! Find something else to entertain yourself with. There is nothing unfortunate about attending a PWI just as well as nothing unfortunate about attending an HBCU. The goal is to WIN regardless. 

I have visited a few HBCUs over the past years and I will admit the experience is quite different, but guess what, I loved every moment of being on those campuses just as much as I like being on my own campus. The ultimate goal for attending any college is to do what we have to do to graduate, that is all. All this in between madness is uncalled for, and just like this debate, it is UNNECESSARY. 

Screen-Shot-2016-04-10-at-9.25.11-PM

Like, for real. Chill.

The cup is empty, Blk Coffeeee.

Leave a Reply

